The Award Show Conundrum

For as long as I can remember I have always loved watching the Academy Awards. I print out my own ballot and make a game out of it. How many can I guess right? I have dreams of winning an Academy Award one day, (an extreme long shot, but what have I got if I haven’t got dreams!?) Last year I went to an Academy Award party with my friends and we had a great time. However, at the end of the day I still don’t know how I feel about the Oscars or award shows in general. They are really just popularity contests with politics streamlined throughout them. The telecasts last way, way, way, way, way too long. These award shows could be done in an hour and still be entertaining.

Sometimes films that deserve a nomination don’t get one whereas a film that doesn’t deserve any clean house! People who are deserving of a nomination never get one while people who have no business at the Oscars win one! The Academy Awards aren’t too bad when it comes to this, the real culprit is the Golden Globes, but I won’t even open that can of worms. At the end of the day; art is art. It isn’t a competition. The Awards are mere recognitions of one’s work, not a declaration of greatness. Awards are not the “be all end all” that many think they are. If you believe in your work you shouldn’t need to have an award to tell you it’s good. Although, an award doesn’t hurt one’s self esteem either. I am not against awards, every profession has them, I just think that sometimes we put way too much emphasis on them.

All that being said, I am still going to print out my ballot. I’m still going to make my predictions. I’m still going to watch the telecast and see how many I get right. I’m still going to dream of winning one. What can I say, it’s tradition at this point.

 

Leave a Reply

