Believe in Your Project, No Matter What

I mentioned several articles ago about how all my projects before college fell through. It got me thinking yet again! Why did they fall through? I know one reason was definitely because the people who would be working on the projects did not have a passion for films or for filmmaking. None of them. However, I think there is another reason I never got those projects off the ground, I was never enthusiastic enough. (Although, the final project I tried to do in high school, I may have been over-enthusiastic, it may have driven them away!)

You must believe in your project. Even if you have reservations about it. You also have to find that middle ground. Don’t be over-enthusiastic either. The trick is to make everyone else working on the project just as enthusiastic as you. Make them believers in your vision. If you go into it just doing the bare minimum, as far as getting them to believe in your project, why would they want to work on it? If the creator doesn’t seem to think too highly of his or her own work, why should they?

Get them pumped up! Make them want to commit to the production schedule. Make them want to come to set each day to make your vision a reality. If they believe in a project just as much as you, they are sure to give the best performance they possibly can. This goes for actors and crew members alike. When you believe in something you want to make it work, therefore you give it your all. Have you ever tried doing something you didn’t want to do or something you didn’t see the point in doing? It can be hell.

Talk with them. Create a good communication with them and you will find it does wonders to the ease of production. I learned this the hard way by having early projects fall through. I didn’t have that communication. I developed that later on when I started making short films in college. I started to get more serious about my work and I had to show others I was serious. I had to convey what I was thinking. I could not just assume they’d know what I was thinking, or how I felt. I also had to make it fun. Filmmaking does not have to be this rigid, cold experience. Have fun with it. There will be stressful days, and there will be scenes that need that seriousness on set. You’ll know when you can let loose on set and when you can’t, but through it all make sure to keep the communication open with those who are helping you out.

Leave a Reply

